My Next Adventure – Santorini, Greece

This is a post I wrote for Marginal Boundaries. You can find it in its original form here.

My love affair with Greece started at a somewhat younger age, and it has only become stronger with time. I have my mother to blame for this; she made me take Latin as my foreign language in high school instead of the preferred Spanish, which gave way to an interest in Roman and Greek mythology, history and architecture. And while technically the ancient Greeks had their own language separate from Latin, the two have been so intertwined over the years as to become nearly indistinguishable as father and mother of the modern English language.

Santorini, GreeceI have to admit, I was not the best Latin student. I adored my instructor, and she is still, to this day, probably the most brilliant woman I have ever met (I mean you, Ilona Thompson, if perchance you should read this). Nevertheless, she was able to excite us about the history related to the language and the region, and to the ancient civilizations that speak what are referred to now as “dead” languages (although i beg to differ on the semantics of what “dead” means).

Bordering the Aegean Sea, Greece is one of Europe’s more “tropical” locations. This is mainly on account of the island of Santorini, and the reason my affair with Greece is slowly but surely becoming an obsession with the unattainable. For now. My awareness of modern media and film urges me to insist that my desire to see Santorini has nothing to do with an underlying desire to be part of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, real or fabricated. Although it is tempting if such a sisterhood does exist and could guarantee me a trip to this island. But to me, this island is a must-see for any world traveler. The brightly colored architecture juxtaposed against the clear blue ocean is enough to make me sigh out loud just thinking about it–and I am sure will bring tears to my eyes if I get the chance to witness it in person. And my desire to see Greece in general has only increased since it was a tentative plan for my graduation gift upon receiving my Bachelors degree last year, but alas, the plan fell through.

Moon over Santorini, GreeceMy dream trip is not as far out of reach as I may have suggested: My family and I may in fact venture to Italy, and to Rome in the Spring months of 2013 to celebrate my father’s 50th anniversary since being ordained as a priest (I know, crazy.) That being said, we plan on making a week or two of the adventure, and Greece is definitely on our list of to-dos, especially since we will be so painfully close by whilst in Rome. My dream of cruising around on a scooter along the Santorini coast will hopefully become a reality, and I am ecstatic at the mere prospect.

Leave a Reply

